The MS PEOPLE UK Forum
Support, help, advice and information for Multiple Sclerosis. Ask questions and share experiences with people affected by MS.
Exedoc

Risk of MS after single case of optic neuritis?

2 posts in this topic Last Reply

Exedoc

I am a medical student and I am finding it hard to figure this out, so I can imagine how stressful it must be for patients!

A friend of mine suffered a severe case of unilateral optic neuritis about 2 years ago. She is black, female ofc, and she was 17/18 at the time.As far as I know she had no other neuro symptoms before or since.

All tests at the time came back normal, she lives in the US so I imagine they did the full shebang of tests too. No lesions on MRI anyway, no family history of MS.

Basically.. what is her risk?! There are so many studies out there all saying different things! A lot of them are of such small patient groups to.. like 100 patients sometimes! And it doesn't often stratify your risk according to your demographic and symptoms, and for example, ON in "children and over 40s" is supposed to be much lower risk than the 2-30 age group but where does 17/18 fit into that?

So I was wondering if someone here knows what sort of risk she has, are we talking "she pretty much has MS, just a matter of time" or are we talking "very unlikely but a slightly higher chance than someone who hadn't had ON"?

1%? 10%? 75%? I have seen them all!

Hezza

Hi Exedoc

aaarrrgggghhhh - I just wrote you a long reply and then lost it :hearts_circle: . I'll try to recycle it :dunno:

I suspect the reason you can't find one simple risk ratio is because noone can give an exact ratio to be honest. Just like MS I think it varies from individual to individual except on an individual basis.

I can't give you a medical opinion but can share my own personal experience with you.