The MS PEOPLE UK Forum
Support, help, advice and information for Multiple Sclerosis. Ask questions and share experiences with people affected by MS.
crispy

Chris P

8 posts in this topic Last Reply

crispy

Hi all,

I've recently found this forum, and think it's great - If only there were a bit more activity (hint - hint) :lol:

I am currently 52, rapidly approaching 53. I was diagnosed in '93 and am a PPMSer. I was retired in '94 from a large Insurance company, where I worked as a computer programmer. They treated me very well, and still do, but I had to accept that the old brain couldn't hang on to the threads it needed to any more :cheers:

I have been married to Cathy for almost 15 years, and we moved to Devon from Hampshire five years ago. People in Devon are so friendly compared to anywhere we have lived before :D

Brief history of my MS.

At the time of diagnosis, there was very little visibly wrong - I was still able to go for long walks and do basic household DIY. Five years ago I began to deteriorate slightly and the stairs were beginning to be a problem. We decided to get a bungalow and moved to Devon to find one. At that time I was still able to install a new kitchen, almost by myself. Heat was increasingly becoming a problem, and three years ago decided that I couldn't take foreign holidays, or staying out in the sun for more than a few minutes. I use a wheelchair if I go out with Cathy, but still manage to hobble about indoors using a stick, and rolling round the walls :wallbash:

I am currently looking at power chairs, but want to keep going as long as I can, and avoid even more muscle waste. Apart from that, I suffer from all the usual problems associated with progressive forms of this thing, but I have a very supportive wife :wink: and despite everything, we are doing just great.

I won't bore you with any more now, there's another day tomorrow :wink:

All the best,

Chris P :crutch: