The MS PEOPLE UK Forum
Support, help, advice and information for Multiple Sclerosis. Ask questions and share experiences with people affected by MS.
dawney-t

Dawn

8 posts in this topic Last Reply

dawney-t

Hi

My name is Dawn and I was diagnosed with MS in May this year and told it was PPMSon 5th July so I'm quite new to MS although I'd been having symptoms since December 2002 and had a rough idea what it was.

I am 42 years old (seems to be the right age group for PPMS), married with three children aged 11, 9 and 6.

I am currently on a career break from my job in the Civil Service due to the fact that my 6 year old is mentally and physically disabled and my 11 year old was diagnosed with cancer at the age of 7, though I'm pleased to say, is currently in remission. My husband was full-time carer for them until he had a stroke in October 2002, at which time I took a 5 year career break. Needless to say when my symptoms began in December 2002 my GP put it all down to stress etc and I was happy to go along with that. As time went by and the symptoms got worse my GP decided to refer me to a neurologist. To cut a long story short, I had a VEP and MRI brain scan, both showing demyelination and got my diagnosis shortly afterwards :crying: . Of course, I'm now unsure about whether I'll be able to return to my job when my career break is over, but I'll cross that bridge when I come to it. Too much else to think about for now. I do wonder though, whether the stress of my life events could have triggered the MS. I know this is a theory in some minds.

Anyway, thats enough about me for now. Hope to see many others join this forum.

Love Dawn x :crutch:

MS diagnosed May 2004, PPMS diagnosed July 2004

crispy

Hi Dawn, it's good to hear from you :D

I have just woken up from a doze in front of the TV, so apologies for not responding earlier. I've no idea whether stress can be considered a trigger for MS, but reading your story, certainly makes you wonder.