The MS PEOPLE UK Forum
Support, help, advice and information for Multiple Sclerosis. Ask questions and share experiences with people affected by MS.
HollyParker

My first question - work

3 posts in this topic Last Reply

HollyParker

Okay, so I haven't been diagnosed yet. I have a mass on my forth ventricle that was described as a lesion, and I've just been referred back to neurology for more tests as, after ruling out other things, my GP (who is very interested in neurology herself) thinks I could have MS.

What ever it is, I'm definitely having some sort of attack. I've always hurt and had symptoms but since Saturday it's been unbearable. It was really warm on Saturday and I was in the sun a lot. I know the heat affects me.

So, aside from the usual pain and such, it's the exhaustion that's getting me. I haven't done anything yet I just feel no energy.

So, I run two businesses. I'm a private tutor (which is great because I work in the evenings). And I own a company that makes resources for maths teachers. I'm trying to make new stuff and I've sat here for a few hours trying to force myself. I've done maybe 1/8th of the work I can normally do when focussed. And I've done nothing since Saturday. So I'm very behind on the work I wanted to get done.

Please tell me this is temporary.

And, if this is MS, well, am I doing more harm?

Basically I am someone who keeps going. I've been known to be in tears from pain but still working, crying while I carry on writing because I want to finish what I'm doing. Even though I make slow progress, and stare at the screen for half an hour doing nothing, I'll still try to keep persevering.

Is that the wrong thing to do? I've noticed a lot of the symptoms come on after a busy month or so. But I can't afford to keep taking whole days or even weeks doing nothing. But I also need to pace myself, and I don't want to find out that my pushing through might actually be making things worse.