The MS PEOPLE UK Forum
Support, help, advice and information for Multiple Sclerosis. Ask questions and share experiences with people affected by MS.
Macymay123

Goosebumps

9 posts in this topic Last Reply

Macymay123

I am new to this and I'm still not diagnosed with MS but have some symptoms. I seen a neurologist twice and MS was brought up along with having to have a brain scan. First they want to do a emg/ncs to rule other things out, then a brain scan. I started 3 years ago having a horrible neurological itch. Then 3 months ago with tingling in my left leg that went to right also. At this time I also started to experience frequent goosebumps (piloerection) that come in lines or patches. It can be on my arms or legs. I can touch my skin and get them. I get them many many times a day. It can be 85 degrees out and I get them. I can not find anything on the internet regarding "goosebumps " and MS, or really much of anything on abnormal goosebumps. So I'm wondering if anyone else has had this happen? I'm just really concerned 😔

Sluggish
Marina

Hi MacyMay123 and welcome! :welcome:

I get goose bumps sometimes, mostly as a small round patch on my right thigh, although I've not had it for a while now - but it's still very odd to see this round circle of bumps! I sometimes get goose bumps all over my legs or arms, whilst I might also feel a bit shivery, for a short while for no apparent reason. I must admit I've not heard the term "piloerection" before, it's good to learn a new word!

Maybe your goose bumps are a result of altered sensations or "Paroxysmal symptoms", as, if it is MS, MS causes nerves to go a bit haywire and can give us all sorts of unexpected sensations.

Altered-sensations.png
WWW.MSTRUST.ORG.UK

These unusual sensations are a type of nerve (neuropathic) pain. Although the feelings seem to be in the skin, they are actually due to damage caused by MS which disrupts...

paroxysmal.png
WWW.MSTRUST.ORG.UK