The MS PEOPLE UK Forum
Support, help, advice and information for Multiple Sclerosis. Ask questions and share experiences with people affected by MS.
Nigel

My experience as a MS Sufferer

4 posts in this topic Last Reply

Nigel

I am very new to MS forums so I am not sure how things work.

Having been diagnosed in 2011 I am very dissatisfied with my dealings with the NHS, DWP and the electric wheelchair provider (Milbrook-What a shower! How do they continue to operate???)

I was rejected for PIP in 2015 and was persuaded to resubmit my application by my MS Nurse and with the help of Citizens Advice but was only accepted for the standard mobility benefit which amounted to some £22.00 a week (so not much!). I did appeal to the hapless DWP against this judgement but again was rejected.

I then went to a Tribunal in Ashford in November last year after a 15 month wait won my appeal and was awarded the standard living needs benefit and enhanced for the mobility benefit backdated to February 2018.

Is it just me who has been treated like shit by these hapless Government bodies or is it something that other people have experienced? 

Nigel Warnett

• Like 1

Procrastinating
Stumbler

Hi @Nigel and welcome.

For a Forum virgin, you seem to have taken to it like a duck to water. Well done.

And well done for your perseverance with your PIP claim. That must have been a nice (post-) Christmas present.

Yes, the whole process is designed to dissuade you from making a claim and expecting a fair award. From the moment that the mammoth application form hits your doormat, you are put off. The rigid timescales and the hoops they expect you to leap through, it's all there to turn you away.

The Benefits and work website (www.benefitsandwork.co.uk) publishes tales of woe and the statistics of how many cases they lose at Tribunal.