The MS PEOPLE UK Forum
Support, help, advice and information for Multiple Sclerosis. Ask questions and share experiences with people affected by MS.
germanrebecca

Dumping Syndrome / Rapid Gastric Emptying

10 posts in this topic Last Reply

germanrebecca

Hello Everyone,

I am new to MS People UK.

A friend of mine has ms.

She has "learned" to cope with many of her ms symptoms.

But her quality of life has now almost reached zero because of a dumping syndrome / rapid gastric syndrome.

Food passes almost completely undigested from the stomach into the intestine. Therefore faintings occur very often.

Definition of Dumping Syndrome:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dumping_syndrome

She did not have any stomach surgery!

Does anyone of you also suffer from a dumping syndrome?

If yes, please let me know, what helped you.

We`ve already been searching the whole web for any information about a dumping syndrome due to ms.

But no connection between ms and dumping syndrome was found.

Therefore every link or suggestion will be very helpfull.

Please do not hesitate to write any idea you have.

Thank you.

Rebecca

Michelle

Hi Rebecca and Welcome,

Firstly I am so sorry to hear that your friend is going through "Dumping Syndrome" and MS. I must admit to not having heard of this syndrome. I personally have only ever experienced bowel incontinence,which required me using an anal plug.

Obviously, this is not the same condition as what your friend is suffering from...

If I come across anything that could be of value to your firend, I will post the info here on the forum.

Regards

Michelle :snail:

"ET"

Is there any chance it could be a second problem, nothing to do with MS? For example, coeliac or IBS? Not sure what else.

Just a thought. I'm not a doctor, so just trying to make suggestions.

Elise

:snail:

Michelle

Ref Dumping Syndrome: